There is no perfect blog

Last night I sipped my Mint Majesty Starbucks Tea, chatting with a friend about our desires to blog. We talked about what our goals for blogging might be. Is it just catharsis? Or is it to gain an audience? Or is it to be published one day? Or maybe it is just to be helpful to someone out there? Maybe it’s all of these. All I know is that I have been terribly inconsistent. Why IS this??? I love to write. I like the outcome it has (warm, fuzzy feelings on the inside, a few comments by my mom and some friends, feeling like I accomplished something…), yet I still balk at sitting down and just doing it, already! So, why?

…yet I still balk at sitting down and just doing it, already! So, why?

Last night, my friend and I think we may have happened upon why it is we hesitate to push the publish button. We want to make sure whatever we put out there in cyberspace is to perfection. I want to make sure every word is perfectly placed. That I’m using good grammar. No misspellings. But, more than that, I want to make sure I’m conveying what I actually want to convey. I want to make sure I’m not just talking to talk, but that I have something valuable to say. It’s a lot to consider, and adds a heavy weight to whether or not to post.

But, then we kind of decided to just do it. I’m a mom of two, a wife of one. I support my husband as he pastors at a church, and try to hold our household together. I’m kind of busy. I have a finite amount of time to do this thing I love, and that’s it. When time’s up, time’s up. Small people do not understand, “Please wait to have your tushy wiped, mommy is blogging.” They also do not take well to, “Dinner will be a few hours late, I have to finish this post.” No way! When nap time’s over (if it ever begins), it’s done and it’s game on. So, that also means blogging time is over (or more frequently, lay comatose for an hour time has ended abruptly). Yet, if I want to do this, then I have to take what I can get.

Yet, if I want to do this, then I have to take what I can get.

So, here’s to imperfection. <Insert clinking sippy cups here>

How about you? What have you been putting off because it needs to be “perfect”? Will you do it today?

Leave a Reply

